Clockify is perfect for companies where everyone has to track time. It’s very simple to use so everyone can track time without any training, plus, you can have as many people as you want.

2.1 Adding and Removing Team Members #

To invite your team, go to the “Team” section. Here, in the corner, you can invite people one by one. All we have to do is type the email address of the person we want to invite, and click ADD. There, now Austin should receive an email with the invite.

Let’s now switch to Austin’s email and find our invitation. Here it is.

But, before Austin can start tracking time for us, he first has to create a Clockify account.

Let’s create an account as Austin. All he has to do is click the link, set up a password, and then log in. There, now Austin can start tracking time for our company.

So, now that we’ve added Austin to our team, we can also add him on private projects so he’ll be able to select them when tracking time. We simply go to “Projects”, select a project, go to “Team” and then add Austin as a member.

Now, if we want to add someone who already has a Clockify account, we can just simply go to the team section again, enter the email, and click add. The person we’ve just added can go to his email, open the invitation, log in with his existing account, and accept the invite.

Before John can actually start tracking time in our team, he must first switch to our workspace. There. Now he’s officially part of the team. But, what happens if John ever leaves the company? Then, the Admin can simply go to the “Team” section and can set him as inactive; then, John will no longer be able to login into our company account.

You can see all the inactive users here and set them back as active any time you want by clicking here.

2.2 User Groups #

Clockify has a very useful feature called User Groups. We can add people to different groups and then assign groups on projects in one click.

This is very useful for companies that have big teams where people get reshuffled across projects all the time. So, instead of having to go through each project each time someone leaves or changes teams, we can just change that person’s user group.

Let’s now see how user groups work.

We first need to define a user group in our workspace settings. We’ll create a group called “Team SuperApp”, which will include everyone who works on SuperApp.

We’ll also create a group called “Developers” for people who work on client projects.

Now we can go to our Team page and define who belongs to what group. This person will work only on SuperApp, and this one will work only on client projects. And this person, he will work on both.

You’ll notice that there’s an Admins group next to our name. Clockify automatically creates this group and you can’t delete it. Admins have the power to see and edit everything, so be careful who you put into this group.

Let’s now add the “Developers” group to a project. We’ll go to “Projects”,  click on a project, go to its “Team” tab, and add the “Developers” group. Now everyone who is in the “Developers” group has access to this private project.

So, we’ve seen how we can add members to user groups, but how do we remove members of user groups from projects. Let’s say Karen stops working on client projects so she can focus on SuperApp, and we have to remove her from all the non-SuperApp projects. Instead of going through each project one by one, we can just remove her from the Developers group and that’s it.

As an Admin, you control who can do and see what in your account.

For example, you can choose who can see billable rates, who can create projects, and whether people can see how much time others have tracked in their Dashboard.

You can also set whether new projects are billable or non-billable by default.

2.3. Workspaces #

Let’s now talk about workspaces. All time entries, users, and settings are tied to a specific workspace. Or, as in this case, the Team Johnson workspace. Let’s switch to another workspace for a moment.

It may seem like nothing has changed, but once we go to the tracker, you can see that there are no time entries and no people. That’s because all our work is in the other workspace.

If we had another company, or if we wanted to separate departments in our company so things don’t get mixed up, we’d use multiple workspaces, one for each company or a department.

Let’s now go back to our first workspace, where all the data is. You can see what workspace you’re in here and switch to another one in one click. You can also switch between workspaces on the “Workspaces” page.

This option here is for leaving the workspace. But be careful. Once you leave a workspace, you can’t go back unless someone invites you. And, if you leave a workspace you’ve created, all the data will be deleted forever, so be extra careful.

In “Workspace” settings, you can change workspace name, assign a default hourly rate for the whole account, and change the currency by typing your own.

“Workspace” settings are applied for everyone in the workspace.

There are also user settings, which get applied only to you. You can find them when you hover over your image.

Here, you can upload your profile picture, change your name, control what emails Clockify sends you, and change time formatting, like the time zone or whether you use a 12-hour or 24-hour format.