Record actions users in your workspace make so you can later run an audit log and see all the changes.

Audit log is an extra feature, which you can enable by upgrading your workspace to Enterprise plan.

Enabling audit log #

To start recording actions, go to Workspace settings and enable Audit log.

You can choose which actions you wish to record:

  • Time entries (create, update, delete)
  • Project (create, update, delete)
  • Client (create, update, delete)
  • Tag (create, update, delete)

Running audit #

  1. Go to Workspace settings > Audit tab
  2. Choose date
  3. Choose user (optional)
  4. Choose actions
  5. Click "Run report"

Once you get the report, you can review events in the table (timestamp, user, and action ), and expand for more details

You can also export audit log as a CSV file and analyze it in Excel or some other program.

Because audit log files can be huge, it takes a while to generate them. You can wait and download it once it's finished, or you can choose to receive it via email.

You can filter audit log by following actions:

TIME ENTRYPROJECTTASKCLIENTTAG
Create (personal, timer)CreateCreateCreateCreate
Create (personal, manual)Create (import)Create (import)Create (import)Create (import)
Create (import)Create (QuickBooks)UpdateCreate (QuickBooks)Update
Create (for other)UpdateDeleteUpdateDelete
Update (personal)DeleteDelete
Update (for other)
Delete (personal)
Delete (for other)

Update events #

For update events, you can see more details about what's been updated.

We recommend enabling Audit log from the moment you start using Clockify so you will always have old and new value for update events.

If you use Clockify and enable Audit log later, you might not have access to the previous value in the audit log because it wasn't recording events at that moment.

For example, if you create a time entry while audit log is off, and you later enable it and you update the same entry, audit log will show that it's been updated but you won't be able to compare the old and new value. However, if you update that entry again, audit log will show both the previous edit as old value and what exactly has been updated in the new value.