If you continuously work on similar projects, it’s a good idea to set up a Project Template so you don’t have to bother creating the same project over and over. Projects you create with an existing Template will have settings such as Billable Rates, Estimates, Tasks and Team already applied.

Project template is a Premium feature, which you can enable once you upgrade your workspace to Premium.

Creating a template #

Here’s how you can set up a Project as Template:

  1. Go to your Projects Page
  2. Click on the three little dots near the Project’s name
  3. Select “Set as template”

You can set up an unlimited number of templates.

Creating a project from a template #

Now that you’ve set up a Project Template, you can use it when creating new projects.

  1. Go to your Projects Page
  2. Click the “Create new project” button in the upper-right corner
  3. Click the “No Template” field
  4. Choose your Template from the drop-down
  5. Click Create

Removing template #

If you no longer want a certain project to serve as a template, you can easily remove it as a template.

  1. Go to your Projects Page
  2. Click on the three little dots near the Project’s name
  3. Select “Don’t use as template”

If you archive a certain project that serves as a template, that’s okay, it will still be offered as a template until you manually remove it as a template.

Changing a template #

If you change a project that was saved as a template, projects created based on that template will not be changed.

Only new projects created from the changed template will reflect the changes.

If you allow regular users to create projects, they can choose any templates no matter the template’s project privacy status. But, regular users can’t create new templates or delete existing ones.