Admins & owners
The Admin role allows you to manage workspace settings, invite team members, and oversee projects. This user role is available on all Clockify plans.
Owner and admin roles #
- Owner: The user who created the workspace. Owners have access to all settings, including billing, SSO, and transferring ownership.
- Admin: A user with high-level access to manage people, time, and projects. Admins handle daily workspace management but have limited access to subscription and payment details.
You can have multiple admins helping you run things, but a workspace can only have one owner at a time.
Assign admin role #
- Go to the Team page in your sidebar
- Locate the team member you want to update
- Click their current role
- Tick the box next to Admin on the pop-up window
- Click Save
- Click Change to confirm the action

Review admin permissions #
Admins have a wide range of capabilities for day-to-day operations, but the owner retains control over sensitive billing and security settings.
| Permission / Action | Admin | Owner |
| Track, add, and edit time for everyone | Yes | Yes |
| Manage projects, tasks, expenses, and rates | Yes | Yes |
| Invite users and assign roles | Yes | Yes |
| Remove an admin role | No | Yes |
| Access the Subscription page and plans | Yes | Yes |
| Edit customer and payment information | No | Yes |
| Set up Single Sign-On (SSO) | No | Yes |
| Transfer the owner role | No | Yes |
| Delete the workspace | No | Yes |
While admins can view the plans tab to upgrade or downgrade a workspace, only the owner can modify the payment details and process invoices.
Manage workspace subscriptions #
To manage your Clockify subscription:
- Click the three dot icon next to your workspace name
- Select Subscription

3. Navigate to the Plans tab if you are on the Free plan
4. Select a plan and click Upgrade to subscribe
To modify an existing subscription (upgrade or downgrade), please refer to this article.
Only admins or workspace owners can enter or update payment information.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs) #
Can an admin promote a regular team member to become another admin?
Yes. Admins have the permission to invite users and assign roles. However, admins should use this capability carefully: while an admin can give someone the admin role, only the workspace owner has the authority to revoke or remove an admin role once it has been assigned.
If admins can upgrade the workspace plan but cannot edit payment information, how do they process an upgrade?
An admin can only execute a plan upgrade if the workspace owner has already saved a valid credit card or payment method on file. If the workspace is on a Free plan and no payment details have been entered yet, the owner needs to input the initial billing information before the admin can go ahead and perform the upgrade.