Administration

Managers

4 min read

In Clockify, there are two types of managers: Project managers and Team managers. 

Note

CAKE.com permissions also apply, as CAKE.com operates as the central organization. For more details on CAKE.com permissions and how they affect individual products, please refer to this article.

Project manager #

Note

Project manager is a paid feature available on any paid plan. You can assign this role per project from the Project page on Basic plan, or globally from the Team page on Standard plan and higher.

Project managers can see all tracked time on their projects and can edit various aspects of their projects, such as: 

  • Set estimates
  • Add tasks
  • Manage project access
  • Schedule their own projects and assignments
  • Approve submitted timesheets for members assigned to their projects (if enabled) 
  • Launch kiosk (if enabled)

Team manager #

Team managers have similar permissions but focus on overseeing their team members and groups. They can: 

  • See all tracked time for their team members
  • Edit time for their team members (if enabled)
  • Approve submitted timesheets for their team members (if enabled)
  • Approve time off for their team members
  • Launch kiosk (if enabled)
Note

The Team manager role is an additional feature available through upgrading your workspace to a Standard, Pro, or Enterprise plan.

Customizing visibility of certain app features, like hiding pages, also applies to managers. Managers have access to Reports, and project managers additionally have access to the Projects page.

Assign manager #

Admin/Owner can assign manager rights to a workspace member from the Team or Projects page. How you assign a manager depends on the role and your subscription plan.

Assign a Project Manager #

You can assign the project manager role in two ways.

Option A: From the Projects page (Basic, Standard, Pro, Enterprise plan)

To assign a manager to an individual project:

  1. Navigate to the Projects page
  2. Click on a project name
  3. Open the Access tab
  4. Locate the team member and click the three-dot icon at the end of the row
  5. Select Give manager rights
Note

On the Basic plan, project managers must be assigned directly from each project’s Access tab.

Option B: From the Team page (Standard, Pro, Enterprise plan)

To assign a manager to multiple projects:

  1. Navigate to the Team page
  2. Locate the team member and click the current role in the Role column
  3. Select the Project manager checkbox
  4. Choose the projects they will manage

Assign a Team Manager #

You can assign the team manager role from the Team page.

To do this:

  1. Navigate to the Team page
  2. Locate the team member and click the current role in the Role column
  3. Select the Team manager checkbox
  4. Choose the team members or groups they will manage

Revoke manager #

It’s also possible to revoke someone’s Project/Team manager role for the specific project or team.

From the Projects page (Basic plan and higher) #

To revoke manager rights from a specific project:

  1. Navigate to the Projects page
  2. Click on a project name
  3. Open the Access tab
  4. Locate the team member and click the three-dot icon at the end of the row
  5. Select Revoke manager rights

From the Team page (Standard plan and higher) #

To revoke manager rights from a project or team:

  1. Navigate to the Team page
  2. Locate the team member and click the current role in the Role column
  3. Uncheck the Team manager or Project manager checkbox

Access and permissions for managers include receiving email notifications for specific members’ activities, editing team members’ time entries if enabled, and assigning groups to team managers for improving administration processes.

ActionPermission
Track timeYes
See time for all projects/users Yes (that I manage)
Add/edit time for othersYes (Team managers for members they manage, unless disabled) 
See and edit* expenses for their team membersYes (*Team managers, unless disabled)
See expenses for members working on their projectsYes (*Project managers, unless disabled)
Edit rates on their projectsYes (unless disabled)
Create projects and see statusYes (unless disabled)
Edit and add tasks on their projectsYes
Add members to their projects Yes
Edit workspace settingsNo
Assign admin roleNo
Assign (transfer) owner roleNo
Set up SSONo
Assign user rolesNo 
Manage groups No
Invite usersNo
Set up user’s status (active/inactive)No
Define billable ratesNo
Create/edit/delete projects Yes 
Create/edit/delete tasksYes 
Create/edit assignmentsYes (* Team managers, unless disabled)
Schedule their projects/assignmentsYes (*Project managers)
Create/edit/delete team members Yes
Create/edit/delete billable rates  Yes
Create/edit/delete project statusYes 
Info

For an overview of all user roles and permissions, check out Understanding user roles & access permissions. 

For more information on access permissions on other user roles in Clockify, check out the Admins and Regular users Help center articles.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you! If you’d like a member of our support team to respond to you, please drop us a note at support@clockify.me