Connect Clockify with your QuickBooks Online account, and send time entries from Clockify to QuickBooks.
QuickBooks integration is an extra feature, which you can enable by upgrading your workspace to Standard, Pro, or Enterprise plan. You can try out the feature for free by activating the free 7-day trial (no credit card required).
Connecting to QuickBooks Online #
- Go to Settings in the Sidebar, and then to Integrations tab.
- Expand QuickBooks section and click "Connect to QuickBooks"
- Authorize Clockify to access QuickBooks (you'll need to be logged in into QuickBooks)
- Sync Clockify with QuickBooks
- Create missing users from Clockify and missing customers from QuickBooks
If you add a new user in Clockify, or a new customer in QuickBooks, you'll have to perform the sync again manually in the Integrations tabs (Clockify won't make any changes to your QuickBooks account unless you do it explicitly).
- User Name in Clockify and Employee Display Name in QuickBooks have to be identical in order to sync
- If a user doesn't exist in QuickBooks as an employee, you'll perform sync in Settings > Integrations > QuickBooks
- Project Name in Clockify and Customer Name in QuickBooks have to be identical in order to sync
- If you have parent customers in QuickBooks, Parent in QuickBooks will be treated as Client in Clockify, and Sub-customer in QuickBooks will be treated as Project in Clockify.
- If a project doesn't exist in QuickBooks as a customer, you'll first have to create it manually in QuickBooks using the exact same name as in Clockify, and perform sync in Settings > Integrations > QuickBooks.
Sending time to QuickBooks #
Once you've connected Clockify and QuickBooks, and synced users and customers/projects, you'll see the QuickBooks button in the Detailed report.
- Go to the Detailed report
- Click QuickBooks button to see all time entries that haven't been sent to QuickBooks
- Review if you wish to send all the data you see and apply filters if necessary
- Click "Send to QuickBooks"
Once all the entries have been sent successfully, the system will mark them as sent. To see time entries that have been sent, click on the QuickBooks dropdown (next to "Showing not sent entries"), and choose "Show sent entries".
Once an entry has been sent, it can't be sent again. If you make changes to an entry, the change won't be reflected in QuickBooks (meaning you'll have to manually update time in QuickBooks too). To avoid this, it's best to send only approved time to QuickBooks.
- It's not possible to send billable entry without a project to QuickBooks
- If you turn rounding ON, Clockify will send rounded values
- Only Admins can send time to QuickBooks
- Clockify sends following data: user's name, date, project (ie. customer in QB), billable status, hourly rate (if billable), duration, description