Users

Admins

Clockify has two types of user roles in the Administrative category:

  • Owner: User who created the workspace
  • Admin: User with administrative permissions

Admin vs Owner:

If the Owner leaves the workspace, the entire workspace is deleted

Admins can appoint users as Managers, who have additional project and team management privileges.
Admins have a range of capabilities, including assigning roles, managing groups, inviting users, setting user statuses, defining billable rates, overseeing time entries, and editing workspace settings.

ActionPermission
Track TimeYes
See TimeYes
Add/Edit Time Yes 
See and edit all ratesYes 
See and edit all projectsYes 
See and edit all tasksYes
Manage usersYes (except removing Admin role > Owner only)
Edit workspace settingsYes 
Delete workspaceYes (Owner only)
Remove/Deactivate AdminYes
Transfer owner roleYes (Owner only)
Set up SSOYes (Owner only)
Assign user rolesYes
Manage groupsYes
Invite users Yes
Set up user’s status (active/inactive) Yes
Define billable ratesYes 
Edit ws settingsYes
Create/edit/delete projectsYes
Create/edit/delete tasks Yes 
Create/edit/delete team members Yes
Create/edit/delete billable rates Yes
Create/edit/delete project status Yes
Edit subscription payment informationYes (Owner only)

For an overview of all user roles and permissions, check out this article. 

Was this article helpful?

Thank you! If you’d like a member of our support team to respond to you, please drop us a note at support@clockify.me