Troubleshooting

Managing team members

Issue 1: Change username for people in my team #

Problem: Can I change username for my team members? #

Solution: #

You can directly edit your team members’ details yourself, without waiting your users to update it.

Profile editing is an extra feature, which you can enable by upgrading your workspace to any of the paid plans.

Only admins and owners can perform this action. Also, keep in mind that if the user has multiple workspaces, their profile cannot be edited. 

To edit user’s profile:

  1. Go to the Team page
  2. Click on the three dots next to the person
  3. Click Edit profile
  4. Make changes (name, email, profile photo, week start, capacity and working days)
  5. Save changes

If you change their email, user will have to confirm the new email first. Only after that, it will be changed.

If you’re on a free plan, your users will be able to edit their names on their own from their Profile settings (hover over profile picture and click Settings). 

Issue 2: Change workspace owner #

Problem: How to change workspace owner? #

Solution: #

To change the workspace owner:

  1. Go to the Team page
  2. Click the three little dots next to the team member’s name 
  3. Choose Transfer ownership

Team member is now set as a new owner.  

There can be only one owner. Owner can transfer their role to someone else at any time. Only primary workspace owner can transfer the ownership to another user.
If you’d like to reclaim the ownership, a new primary owner needs to transfer that role back to you.

When you transfer the owner’s role, you’ll be downgraded to an admin and no longer in charge of the workspace. A team member you gave the owner’s role will receive a notification that you made them the new owner of the workspace.

Issue 3: Stop team member’s timer #

Problem: How to stop team member’s timer #

Solution: #

If you’d like to stop someone else’s timer, you can deactivate that user on the Team page and then reactivate them again. After deactivation, user’s time entries are discarded.
After reactivation, the user or admin and owner on a paid plan can add these time entries manually, again.

If you’re a workspace owner on an Enterprise plan, you can log in as any user and directly stop the timer.

To do that:

  1. Go to the Accounts tab
  2. Click on Log into another person’s account

If you’re on a Basic plan, or any plan above, your team can stop the team member’s timer with the owner and admin user roles.

  1. Go to Calendar page
  2. Choose teammate
  3. Click red dot in Today field

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!