Clockify lets you categorize and analyze time using a 4-level hierarchy: description, tasks, projects, and clients.

For further categorization, you can also use tags, which work regardless of the hierarchy.

How you can organize time entries #

  • If you do client work, name projects with the title of the assignment given by your client (e.g. “E-commerce Analytics”, “Website Redesign”, “SuperApp”). You can also have a special project where you’ll put all non-billable time entries (eg. emails, time-off, meetings).
  • If you do client work but want to keep it simple, you can just use client’s name as the project name and then use tasks to indicate what type of service you’ve provided.
  • If you have common projects for different clients, you can use projects for the type of service (eg. marketing, development) and use tags to indicate for which client a particular time entry was.
  • If you don’t work with clients, you can use projects as general areas of work (eg. sales, operations, support).
  • If you use Clockify for tracking personal productivity, you can name projects by activity (e.g. emails, working, learning, cooking).

Clients, projects, and tasks #

Projects are the primary mean of organizing your time. At a higher level, you can organize projects around clients (or departments or whatever else).

Clients are used to organize projects. A client can have many projects, but a project can belong to only one client.

It’s not possible to add just a client to a time entry as clients are used as a grouping mechanism for projects. But, you can create a project named after a client. Alternatively, you can create a tag for each client and add it to a time entry, so you can later group entries by tag.

If you need more control, you can further classify time entries using tasks (ie. sub-projects or jobs) and use them to designate the type of work (e.g. design, writing, programming), or whatever else you want (eg. bugs, sprint A, phase X).

While tasks are commonly used to designate the type of activity (eg. Design, Coding), the description field is most commonly used for the actual thing you’ve worked on (eg. “Fix bug #638”).

Changing the name “Clients” to something else

If you don’t organize projects by clients, you can change the “Client” label to “Departments”, “Category” or anything else you want.

To change the name “Clients”:

  1. Go to Workspaces and then to Settings
  2. Find Group project by and click on the drop-down menu under it
  3. Choose “Departmants”, “Category” or “Custom…” to enter a custom name

Managing clients #

Creating clients #

  1. Go to Workspace Settings and then to Clients tab (or click Clients in the sidebar)
  2. Type client name and click ADD

Or:

  1. Click “Create project”
  2. Click “Client” and start typing client name
  3. Click “Create client”

Archiving clients #

  1. Go to Workspace Settings and then to Clients tab (or click Clients in the sidebar)
  2. Click on three dots next to the client’s name
  3. Choose Archive
  4. Confirm the action in the pop-up window. There you will also have the option to archive all projects assigned to that client

Once the client is archived you will be able to delete it.

Deleting clients #

  1. Go to Workspace Settings and then to Clients tab (or click Clients in the sidebar)
  2. Select Show archived or Show all from the drop-down menu
  3. Click on three dots next to the archived client’s name
  4. Choose Delete
  5. Confirm the action

Note: clients can only be deleted after being archived.

Managing tags #

When projects and tasks aren’t enough to keep things organized, use tags.

The best thing about tags is that they are available across the workspace.  Tags work regardless of the project so you can create one tag, use it on multiple projects, and filter reports based on them. You can even use multiple tags to filter reports with more precision.

You can use tags to add additional information to time entries. For example, you can:

  • Mark time entries with non-standard billing rates or currencies so you know how to invoice them
  • Mark time entries you’ve invoiced with “invoiced” tag so you don’t bill a client twice (you can use bulk edit to update multiple entries at once)
  • Mark what type of work or service you provide (eg. project management, feedback, debugging, coding) so you can see what type of work takes how much time across all projects
  • Mark what part of the business you’re working on (eg. internal, support, client work, mobile)
  • Mark time that you worked overtime

Tags are useful because you can use them as keywords by which you can filter reports to find exactly what you need.

Before you can use tags, you have to create them in Tags either in workspace settings or by typing the new tag name in the tag picker and pressing ctrl+enter. Once you’ve created a tag, all users in your workspace can select it when tracking time.

Everyone can create tags (though you can limit creation to Admins only in workspace settings). Only admins can edit, and delete tags. You can create as many tags as you want.

Creating tags #

  1. Go to Workspace Settings and then to Tags tab (or click Tags in the sidebar)
  2. Type tag name and click ADD

Or:

  1. Click “Tags”
  2. Start typing tag name
  3. Click “Create tag”

Archiving tags #

  1. Go to Workspace Settings and then to Tags tab (or click Tags in the sidebar)
  2. Click on three dots next to the tag’s name
  3. Choose Archive
  4. Confirm the action in the pop-up window.

Once the tag is archived you will be able to delete it.

Deleting tags #

  1. Go to Workspace Settings and then to Tags tab (or click Tags in the sidebar)
  2. Select Show archived or Show all from the drop-down menu
  3. Click on three dots next to the archived tag’s name
  4. Choose Delete
  5. Confirm the action

Note: that the tags can only be deleted after being archived.

How editing tags works #

  • If you change the name of the tag in Tags section, time entries that have this tag applied will remain tagged with the renamed tag
  • If you use bulk edit to change tags on time entries, you will have the option to add a new tag to existing or overwrite existing
  • If you delete a tag all time entries that had this tag applied will end up untagged.