You can have an unlimited number of users in Clockify, so your whole team can track time.

Before your team can start tracking time, you have to invite them to your workspace.

Inviting users:

  1. Click Team in the main sidebar on the left
  2. Click on Add new member in the upper right corner
  3. Enter the email of the person you want to invite
  4. Click Add. The person will then appear and it will say “(not joined yet)” before their name until they accept your invite

Tip: to invite multiple users at once, enter all the emails and separate them with a comma (eg. mark@domain.com, jane@domain.com).

Please note that if you’re using a free plan you can enter up to 5 email addresses at once to invite users in a bulk (but you can invite an unlimited number of users in total).

If you’re on a paid plan there’s no limitation to how many email addresses you can enter at once.

To reinvite a user that hasn’t joined yet you can click on the three dots next to the pending user’s name, select Resend invite and the invitation email will be resent.

Manually inviting users #

If you have trouble with emails not coming through,  you can invite a person and then copy the invite link and send it to them personally.

Note: If the person already has an account, there will be no invite link. In that case, they have to log in at https://clockify.me/login and accept the invite through the notification.

Accepting the invite #

  1. The person you invited will receive an invitation email with the activation link they need to click
  2. After clicking the link, they need to enter the password they want to use
  3. The invited person can then log in and start tracking time for you

If a person already has a Clockify account, they will receive an email and a notification in Clockify. In that case, they have to open the notification and click Accept. Then, they’ll be able to switch to your workspace and start tracking time for your company.

Only admins can invite new users to a workspace and manage their details (set their hourly rate, set as inactive, and assign to groups).

Deactivating and deleting users #

When you delete or deactivate a user, they won’t be able to see and track time on your workspace anymore. The difference between deleting and deactivating is that you can activate a user whenever you want, without them having to accept workspace invitation. But if you delete a user, they won’t appear on your Team page and, if you want them back, you’ll have to go through the whole invitation process again.

To deactivate a user:

  1. Go to Team page
  2. Click three dots next to the person you want to deactivate/delete
  3. Select “Deactivate”

Once the user is no longer active you will be able to delete it. To delete a user:

  1. Go to Team page
  2. Click three dots next to the inactive user
  3. Select “Delete user”

Note: users can only be deleted once they are archived.

The time entries of deleted/inactive users will remain but you won’t be able to filter reports by them. You can see their time entries in the e.g. summary report when you group it by user.

To reactivate a user:

  1. Go to Team page
  2. Select Show all or Show inactive users in the drop down menu
  3. Select “Activate”

Once a user is activated, they can log in and track time as usual (although they won’t receive an email or a notification that they’ve been activated).

All inactive user’s names will be strikethrough.

Making someone admin #

To make someone an admin, go to Team page and add them to the Admins group. You can do that by clicking on the + Access or any existing group in the Access column.

To remove them as admin, untick the checkbox Admins.

To make someone an owner, the owner of the workspace has to click on the three dots next to the name of the person who they wish to transfer ownership to, click “Transfer ownership”, and confirm the action.

Note: the difference between Admin and Owner is that only the owner can remove the Admin role from someone, transfer ownership to another user, and delete the workspace.