A time entry is a record that describes what you were doing during a specific time period.

Each time entry has a date, start and end time, duration, and description of what was done. Additionally, a time entry in Clockify can contain a project, billability status, and tags.

In Clockify, there are two main ways you can add time entries: using a timer or by adding time manually.

Timer mode #

You can track time you spend working on tasks using a timer. In automatic mode, all you have to do is type description and start the timer, and Clockify will record date, start and end time, and duration automatically once you stop the timer.

  1. Enter automatic mode by clicking the clock icon in the upper left corner on the Time Tracker page.
  2. Type what you’re working on in the “What’s Up?” box.
  3. Optionally, mark time as billable, select project/task, and add tags.
  4. Start the timer by clicking START button.
  5. When you finish working, stop the timer by clicking STOP button.

Note that once you start the timer, it will keep running until you stop it; it will keep running even if you leave the page or close the browser.

When the timer is running, the favicon in the browser will change from black to blue so you have a visual cue to see if you maybe forgot to start or stop the timer. Also, Clockify will display how long the timer is running in the tab.

Clockify running timer browser tab

Change start time while the timer is running #

You can change start time while the timer is running by clicking twice on the running time. Then you can manually type in your real start time.

This is useful when you start an activity but you can’t start the timer at that moment (eg. you’re on a meeting and are away from the computer).

Adding start time in Timer mode

Email about a long-running timer #

If you forgot to stop the timer, Clockify can send you an email about a long-running timer (over 8 hours). You can turn on/off that option in your User settings.

Note: Time entries display the timestamp containing the time zone you currently set. If, when you stop the timer, the time automatically changes to a different time, check your time zone settings in User Settings.